The Greentennial Run: Ready for pikermi?

Posted: March 21, 2011 in My Runs
Tags: , ,

One of the most anticipated running events of 2011 was the Greentennial Run by De La Salle University. It is also one of the most uniquely advertised running events courtesy of the Greentennial Run Photography. 🙂

the winning entry in the photo contest!

I signed up for my very first15K on this event. Aside from the very low registration fee, I was ecstatic by the idea of having a finisher’s medal on a non-HM race. I also thought that it would be an excellent training for my forthcoming Condura Skyway Marathon.

My officemates availed the 10 + 1 promo which gave us a discount on an already low registration fee. On times like this when we join running events almost every week, a P50 reduction is a big deal. 🙂

my officemates 🙂

During the race day, the race started just on time right after the warm up exercises by fitness instructors from .. I forgot where they’re from. Lol. It was comical coz as I crossed the starting line, there were so many photographers taking photos, it was like an awards night where flashes of camera were just non-stop. It felt kinda great. It’s like you’re a celebrity or something.

Along the race route are hydrations with enough supply, gracious marshals (which most of them were familiar faces) and cool photographers that will ask you to jump, to point at the camera, to look back & to shower up. Again another unique & cool feature of the race.

The route was also very challenging. My favorite part was the Kalayaan flyover all the way to RCBC Plaza and back. I remember, it was sooooo dark when I ran up the flyover then it was already a bright morning when I came back. LOL.

I finished my first 15K with the time of 1 hour & 47 minutes and I felt good. It was my first race that I was continually running for one hour and completed the race strong. That’s my achievement on this event. 🙂

last 1 kilometer!

Overall, I did take pleasure in the event. It is one of the most organized races I’ve joined. The organizers did prepare for the event and they were victorious.

Now, The Greentennial Run is back. Dubbed as “The Greentennial Run Half Marathon”, obviously they’re offering the pikermi category as addition to 3K, 5K, 10K & 16K.

watch out for more details.

There will be no registration fee increase, as they are “Pro Runners”, still at P500 for all categories. I am actually tempted to join and have my first pikermi. Hmmmm. We’ll see.

Mark your calendars on May 22, 2011 as the greenest & “most photographed” (LOL. Up to now, I still see photos being uploaded on facebook) running event will commence @ SM Mall of Asia Complex.

Registration starts on April 24, 2011. Watch out for other details.

See you & Happy Running.

Comments
  1. John says:

    good luck pare sa first 21k mo.. feeling ko naman kaya mo… pwede naman maglakad eh… hehe

Leave a Reply

