Hyundai Made History & We Are All Happy!

Posted: April 4, 2011 in My Runs
Tags:

Hyundai  Accent Fun Run definitely made history last Saturday, April 2, 2011 at Quirino Grandstand where about 20,000 people run for free & for a cause.

To tell you the truth, I was one of the people who skeptic about the race. Knowing that it’s for free, I expected that thousands of people will join the race. And based on my previous race experiences: many people = flooding @ start & finish line, insufficient hydration, chaotic race (unless it’s runrio).  So I set my standards a little bit low for this race, considering the number of runners who registered plus the fact that it’s free, I prepared myself for a chaotic & a walkathon kinda race. Fortunately, I was wrong. Hyundai pulled it off I was left in awe.

Who would have ever thought that a FREE RACE can actually topped off some PREMIUM RACES we already had?  Hyundai Accent Fun Run literally gave runners everything that they get on a premium race: singlet, hydration, timing device, marshals, photos, tote bag.  What else can you ask for?

Not just that, Hyundai also properly executed the race. The gun start by wave system was perfect in my opinion, I think every big races should start doing that. It was a smart idea to avoid flooding of runners considering the number of people who joined.

Marshals were also everywhere, at the first  3 kms, there was a long line of marshals instructing the runners to keep right to avoid counter flowing the earlier waves of runners. On  other races, they just use traffic cones, but Hyundai is smart enough to know using people as guide & instructors will be better to avoid flooding and they were so successful on that part. I ran the whole course and I never felt stranded or anything. It was amazing. I made a PR on 5K. My first ever sub30. Good job talaga.

I would also like to mention that they have very nice & accommodating staffs during the registration & claiming of race kits especially at Hyundai BGC. Hats off to them! Eventhough there were some runners who have the nerve to complain and be bossy and demanding, the staff were very courteous, they were really trained for customer service.  Good job ulet.

The race is also for the benefit of Habitat for Humanity & other charitable institutions which actually impressed me more. Hyundai paid everything & all we need is to be there & run.

In behalf of all the runners, thank you Hyundai and may you be always successful in all your endeavors we will always be there to support! Congrats on the very successful Hyundai Accent Fun Run For A Cause!  Sa uulitin!

Happy Running!

Leave a Reply

