Thrill Run, Idol Sightings & My First Half Mary

Posted: July 6, 2011 in My Runs
Tags: , ,

First time in Nuvali 

Last Sunday, July 3, 2011 I joined the Front Runner’s Thrill Run at Nuvali.  (Thanks to my HOB friends for inviting me) I was hesitant at first since I have not been to Nuvali so I was scared that I might got lost or something. Good thing though that HOB mate  & fellow Caviteño Jonathan Villasin offered me a ride from Cavite to Nuvali. All being set, I was so thrilled & ready to run at Nuvali.

I joined the 10K category along with HOB mate Iris Rivera & Team KTT’s power couple: Cris & Bave dela Cruz. The runners for 10K were only 50+ I think, I was scared to be the last and be lost in the route since it was my first time that’s why I worked my arse off to atleast stay at the middle of the pack.

The route was nice. Lots of hills but still nice. Nuvali is beautiful place to run. It’s a different feeling, it’s a different experience. It was like I was running with peace and a happy heart. I actually saw myself smiling while I was running the course. I don’t know, maybe it was just me being me.

I ran half the course with Iris & Bave and I’m so happy for them because they placed 2nd & 3rd respectively in the female category, following Michelle Estuar who bagged the first place. Cris I think placed 7th for male. I was 15th place. Haha. That’s the beauty of small races, my standing goes up. Lol

HOB’s Shiela, Soi, Papa Racs, Mark, Aileen, Kokoy, Tatay Jess & Kuya Jon all run 21K. Shiela Antiga placed 4th in female category. Good job Shielaw!

Runadoboking Idols @ Nuvali

Team Powerpuff Boys was in full force that morning with Idol Wilnar Iglesia leading them in 21K. Wilnar placed 4th at 21K, along with his TPBB buddy, Chris Iblan.

Wilnar Iglesia is the the very first running idol featured here on my blog and it was the first time I saw him in person. Sayang di ako nakapag pa picture. Haha. Fanboy.

Mommy Idol Bave dela Cruz,  our most recent featured runner was also there and I was able to run with her in the 10K category. Yay! I also got a cool race belt with bib holder from her. If you want one, Click Here  & place your orders now.

Getting ready… Getting ready…

When I arrived at home after the race, my friend told me that I was already registered for the Milo Marathon for the 21K category. It is going to be my first Half Marathon. My goal is simple, it’s just not to die. Haha. Seriously, since it’s my first time, I just want to finish the race alive and injury free. Making it on the cut off time will be nice but I will not expect to much for myself  coz I’m not good with these kind of expectations. Lol.

I think I can finish the race, I believe I can finish the race, so, I’m gonna finish the race. I ‘ll do what I have to do, what I’ve learned from my peers in running, from my training in ANR, I’ll certainly do my best and I’ll make sure to make this experience something I can be proud of.

Milo Marathon, I’m ready for yah!!! 

Photos taken from Bave & Iris’ FB. Thanks! 😀

Comments
  1. Bave says:

    It was nice pacing with you!!! You ae strong and I believe you can finish you 1st Half mary with great time…My tip would be set a time..like…sub 3 hours…or sub 2:40…Enjoy! Do the Galloway..its very effective! I survived mine doing this!

    I pray and hope for the great experience ahead of you!! See you at Milo!

  2. Bave says:

    Thank you by the way for the ping back regarding the Race belts!

  3. Goodluck on your pikermi! see you at the finish line brader! and by the congrats on your run at nuvali you can really feel the fresh air rather than polluted air here in manila hahaha!

  4. Jonathan says:

    Of course you can do it CJ! Do you want to tag along with Iris during the race? I will be pacing her on her 1st Half Mary too! It will be an honor to guide and push the both of you to the finish line 🙂

    Good luck and have fun on you race!

  5. jayrunning says:

    21 K pace (minutes per kilometer) = time of finish
    6 minutes per kilometer = 2 hours 6 minutes
    6 minutes 30 seconds per kilometer = 2 hours 16 minutes 30 seconds
    7 minutes per kilometer = 2 hours 27 minutes
    7 minutes 30 seconds per kilometer = 2 hours 37 minutes 30 seconds
    8 minutes per kilometer = 2 hours 48 minutes
    8 minutes 30 seconds per kilometer = 2 hours 58 minutes 30 seconds

  6. kokoydelmo says:

    Great blog entry CJ. It was a great run indeed in Nuvali, apart from the long ride going there, its close to a perfect running area, great hill training too (checked my Garmin, it has a 200m elevation on some part of the 21km route – cool!).

    Anyway, good luck on your first pikermi. You can definitely do it with support from friends and running mate. Kayang kaya yan, just stay focused and training prior is a great plus so that you won’t get surprised. Let us know if you need some help. 🙂 Cheers!

  7. Iris says:

    Nice CJ.. I like.. On our first half mary lets try 7 to 6:30.. kaya natin yun..

  8. cj, good luck on your 1st 21k! train well and hard! a sub-2:30 is doable on your current fitness level. see you on the route 🙂

  9. thei says:

    good luck and congrats in advance sa 1st 21km mo…

  10. thei says:

    oo nga eh… next week balik moa ulit … attend ka na … again GOOD LUCK !!! see u on the road … 🙂

Leave a Reply

