Nathan Ridge Run: Road Race Redefined!

 “It is not the mountain that we conquered but ourselves” – Edmund Hillary 

After my 32K disaster run last week, which almost made me want to quit running. LOL. I now have a new story to tell: 😀

As they say, when you’re down and troubled and sad and all… all you need is a good run. And that’s what Nathan Ridge Run gave me! So thank you Nathan! 😀

I joined the Nathan Ridge Run (10k) last Sunday, November 20, 2011 held at Tagaytay Highlands. And it was a wonderful running experience. 😀

With Team Logan before the 10K Gun Start! (Photo by Jen)

It was the most challenging yet enjoyable 10K race I ever had. The uphills and downhills were very tough but you’ll see people smiling the whole time. You can see that they enjoyed the race even it was difficult.  Everybody was up for the killer hills challenge! The scenic views and fresh air also gave the participants a different kind of runner’s high! as they ran down the rolling hills of Tagaytay Highlands! It was truly an amazing race experience for the urban road racers.

I finished with a time of 1:21 and ranked 113th out of 400+(?) runners. Top 100 finishers got a gorgeous silver medal. Sayang di ako umabot pero ok lang. I finished the race with a big smile on my face. I’m happy with my performance. 😀

Sprint to the finish w/ Angel (Photo by PF)

Nathan Ridge Run brought back the thrill and my passion for running in me as they successfully redefined road racing and delivered the awesomest race of the year!

Why is Nathan Ridge Run an Awesome Race?

 Challenging Hills: Check.

Sufficient Hydration: Check.

No Plastic Cups: Check.

Post Race Meal: Check

Happy Runners : Check 😀

And the thing that I liked the most about this event is that they succeeded in implementing the “NO PLASTIC CUPS” policy during the race. Everybody had their hydration bottles with them all through out the race. As a result, walang kalat! This race deserves a commendation from different environmental groups. This is the true eco-friendly race! Good job Nathan! I hope we can bring this to Manila and I hope the 1000 participants of this race will continue the practice of the use of hydration bottles and will start the change for the betterment of our environment.

With Henry, Junjun, Maurice, Mr. & Mrs. Ragos of Team HOB! (Photo by Iris)
Breakfast with fellow bloggers! (Photo by Sir Rene)

The good news is Nathan Ridge Run is now going to become an annual event! Yehey! 😀 You now have a whole year to train and prepare for those killer hills!

See you again on Nathan Ridge Run 2012!

Special Thanks to Nathan & Primer Team: Mariel, Laira & Ian! You did an awesome job! 😀

17 thoughts on “Nathan Ridge Run: Road Race Redefined!

  1. I totally agree with your post. Until now, the memories of the entire event are still fresh to me. Will definitely join again their next run. Are you sure that it will be a yearly event?

      1. Thanks, that’s great to hear. Looking forward to that, I’m sure next time there’ll be more participants since the runners most likely shared their events and pics with their friends.

  2. nice, Cj….pero natawa ako bigla kina Junjun, Maurice, Mr. and Mrs. Ragos and Henry(nakasama nanaman sya!)

    true…sana ganito din sa Manila…alang kalat. Bring your own hyradration.

    Congrats, Nathan! Congrats, Runners! Congrats, HOBsters!

  3. Another great write up CJ. thanks too for the picture post. Sayang, you didn’t get that nice silver medal. I think anyone that finished that race should have gotten a medal, but then again, it gives you something to aim for next year, right? Now in your article you said everyone was smiling. To be honest with you, when we were going DOWN to the midlands area, I didn’t see to many smiles on those coming UP. Honestly, that scared me. I was asking Michelle, “what in the world have I gotten us into?” There was a brief period of time in which I wondered if we would make the official cutoff, but, working together on the uphill climb, I realized we were going to make it and with a few minutes to spare. I think our official time was 1:53. :). Now there may be some wondering, “what in the world”, almost 2 hours to do 10k”? all i can say to them is…”join us next year”. 🙂 Yes, beleive it or not, the Lord willing, we’ll do it again next year! Yeah! Take care sir. Happy Thanksgiving from our side of the world. 🙂

    1. Thank you Sir Craig!

      Ahaha. Yeah… about the “walking/going up” part of the hills, that was extremely diffciult, but after the race we were all in smiles na di ba?. 😀 I was actually thinking about how would you manage to do that. But i just thought that since you stay @ Baguio, sanay na kayo sa hills. 😀

      See you next time Sir Craig! More Power & God Bless Team Logan! 😀

Leave a Reply

