First time in Cebu, Last race of the year! – Run United Cebu 2011 Race Report

Last week, when I was still at Corregidor for CIHM, I got an email from Runner’s & Runner and Unilab inviting me to join Run United Cebu. Without hesitation, I immediately replied: “Yes, I’m joining”. 😀

Since it’s going to be my first time to “fly” and “run” in Cebu, it made me very excited. I had a lot of fun on my previous out of town races (Read Corregidor & Tagaytay Highlands Run) and I kinda told myself that I’ll be investing on it on the coming year. I like to travel to other places and run at the same time, because BGC and MOA routes don’t give me that much of the excitement anymore. Nakakasawa na rin e. We race there almost every week.

Pre Race:  Saturday

At NAIA Terminal 3 (Photo by Running Atom)

So with other running bloggers, some media partners & the unilab team we left Manila by Saturday morning and reached Cebu maybe around pass 12noon. We checked in at Marco Polo Plaza Hotel. There we had our lunch, city tour, dinner and finally rested and had a good night sleep in preparation for the race.

Group Photo at Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Lobby (Photo by Running Atom)

Race day: Sunday

I signed up for the 10K category because I just came from my Half Marathon at Corregidor and I just felt like I don’t want to be stressed out at Cebu after the race. Most of them signed up for 21K. Good thing my room mate Sir Jinoe of Takbo.ph will run 10K too! Yey! I was not alone and yeah no time pressure for us! 😀

When we reached the Cebu IT Park, the venue of the event, I was surprised to see a lot of participants! And they all look fit and ready to conquer the road! About 1,300 runners joined the 21K category, 500+ runners for 10K and 1000+ runners for 5K and 400+ runners for the 3K category. There is also a 500M dash for kids category. It was a jam packed event.

Few minutes before the gunstart @ Cebu IT Park (Photo by Running Atom)

While waiting for the gun start, we had a short warm up / stretching exercise. I noticed that most the runners here were very participative. They were all doing the dance / warm up exercise. Something I do not usually see in Manila races. 😀

Gun started at 5:30am. Goal is to just enjoy the race and tour the City. 😀 But I was surpised by the Cebu runners! They were fast. On a usual 10K race in Manila, I see runners already walking at kilometer 2 or 3 but it was different at Cebu. At kilometer 5, everybody is still running. Most of them are young and athletic, maybe students from different colleges in Cebu. Naghahabulan sila. And because I was carried away by the pace of Cebu runners I clocked in at 27 mins at 5K which is not the plan. I started slowing down and take a look around the city while running. Sayang e. Mag tour na din dapat.  😀

Natuwa yata ako sa pamamasyal. It’s almost 1 hour when I reached the 8K mark. This time I saw a lot of walkers na because this was the uphill part of the race route. There was also a little rain shower pero di naman tumuloy at lumakas. I ran the last 2 kilometers and checked in at the finish time with a time of 1:15 something. Sorry naman. Namasyal ako sa Cebu e and also, inuubo ako during the race. (Excuses? Lol) 😀

At the Unilab Active Health Village after the race (Photo by Running Atom)

After the race, I claimed the finisher’s kit. Mas madami syang laman kesa sa Manila! Haha. Tapos a random man talked to me, Sabi nya: “Gwapo something something”. Basta all I understood was “gwapo”. Tapos I said, “ano po?” He said: Yung race, maganda! Very organized! (Lol. I thought sinabihan ako ng gwapo. Haha) I asked him if he always join races, he said “depende sa organizer”. I learned from him na just like here in Manila, every week may race din pala sa Cebu but according to him, not all were not well organized like Run United Cebu. He said that they are waiting for big running events like this that’s why they were very happy that Unilab & RunRio brough Run United in their city and they were able to experience a very organized race.

With two beautiful "Cebuanas" @ the Unilab Active Health Village (Photo by Running Atom)

Overall, it was a good race for me. Though on hindsight, I should’ve just ran the 21K race so that I should’ve seen more of the City of Cebu, it’s still ok.. Basic race needs were present: Marshalls, Hydration, & Challenging Route. It is like the usual technically perfect Runrio Race except that it was set on a new place and with different runners!

Run United Cebu was indeed the best place for the final leg of Run United Regional Series which also had successful runs in Bacolod, Baguio, Cagayan de Oro and Davao.

Thank you Unilab especially to Ms. Janice & Ms. Claire for that one great experience! I hope there will still be Run United Regional Series next year. 😀

7 thoughts on “First time in Cebu, Last race of the year! – Run United Cebu 2011 Race Report

  1. Hi po. There’s a run for Sendong victims. Rescue Run (Race for Sendong)

    date: dec. 31, 2011
    venue: McKinley Hill
    fee: minimum 150 only you can donate more if you want
    5k only
    organizer: greentennial
    registration: ROX, A Runner’s circle
    note: no freebies, no timing chip, no singlet, limited bibs (organized on very short notice kasi)
    proceeds will go to Typhoon Sendong victims.

    More info at http://www.pinoyfitness.com/2011/12/rescue-run-race-for-sendong-december-31-2011/

    There will be a free 4-star hotel stay prize for biggest donator, Very important cause for your last race of the year po. Please spread the word.

  2. CJ, ang totoong sinabi nung lalake sa’yo, “gwapo, buti dinalaw mo ako” lol!
    Nice race report, and yes, out-of-town races are really exciting. Running can really take us to places we’ve never been to. See you again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

