Salomon: The XR Mission

Posted: April 19, 2012 in My Runs
Tags: , , , , ,

The Salomon XR Mission

Press Release:

Salomon, the innovative outdoor brand, Introduces XR Mission, all terrain trail running shoes with specific men’s and women’s designs and constructions. XR Mission is for runners who train regularly and vary their workouts.

Light, flexible, unbelievably comfortable, the XR Mission  is the newest member of Salomon’s award-winning XR family  of door  to trail running shoes. “The XR Mission is a trail running shoe for people who want to take their training seriously and want lightweight and flexibility,” explains Jeff Dill, Salomon’s Product Line Manager for Trail Running Footwear.

The XR Mission is not simply a slimmed-down version of the very  popular (but  higher mileage) XR Crossmax. New from the ground up, XR Mission is light and  responsive with a women’s specific version. The heart of the shoe is the OS muscle and tendon, Salomon’s patented cushioning midsole and energy returning tendon system. It cushions shocks while improving heel to toe transition, making the shoe simply easier to run in.  With a Contagrip™ outsole, XR Mission naturally adapts to variances in terrain, aproviding great grip and rebound on any surface.

XR Mission  has  a host of comfort features that specifically address the most critical issues runners typically contend with. Sensiflex™  is a soft mesh  fabric,  coated with flexible  TPU and  placed on the metatarsal area of the foot. This provides great foot

support in the forefoot, but  reduces bunions that occur in about 30% of runners. Add internal Sensifit and Quicklace, and the Mission  adapts comfortably to almost any foot.

XR is also specifically tailored to the morphology and motion of men and women, respectively. XR Mission Women is the first shoe built with Women’s Specific Ride. In addition to  a specific last shape, asymmetrical fit that wraps medially to support a higher arch  and  taller instep, common among women, and  thicker foam  around the heel,  XR Mission Women  has  more  and  deeper flex grooves to accommodate a lighter average weight and  more  rigid foot, also common in women. “Developing the XR Mission was very much two different projects,” explains Dill. “Although they look similar, it was critical throughout the process to define specific fit and performance characteristics for each gender. We have given women a shoe that is designed for them in every way.”

The Primer Group of Companies, Asia’s next retail giant, is the exclusive distributor of Salomon in the Philippines.


“I had the opportunity to test one of Salomon’s newest door-to trail shoes recently.  And I just had to test it on one of the most awesome places here in the Philippines…Coron in Palawan!  I was happy to test it there because I didn’t have to bring a lot of shoes.  I used this shoe as my travelling shoe as well as my all rounder around town and around the trails. 

Having one shoe to use for the approach to the trail was such a blessing.  I was surprised to find it very comfortable on the concrete roads heading to the trail head.  It was like a cushioned running without the bulk and weight.  Transitioning it to trail use was so easy that I was able to maintain my pace on the road up to the initial part of the trail (it was still a bit flat though).  Thanks to Salomon’s Quicklace system putting it on was such a cinch.  There weren’t any untied shoe issues while I was running because of the unique feature plus it has its own Quicklace garage storage area.  Smart!  The highly breathable mesh upper was so noticeable because I can feel my feet breathe after several minutes of running.  My feet were practically dry after my 80 minute trail run. 

The real test of this shoe was tested on the uphill.  It was very grippy on the trail despite having road shoe like traction on the outsole.  Truly, the Contragrip LT’s lightweight material provided me with the precise traction.  It didn’t hamper my footing on steep inclines and I was pretty confident on my downhills.  Another interesting point for this shoe is the sole’s OS Tendon structure (the two rigid bars that goes through the forefoot down to the heel area).  This feature made my hill attacks controllable even on uneven surfaces.  Even if my footing wasn’t 100% I kind of felt like the shoe was guiding my footing on right steps!  My footroll was pleasant the whole run despite varying trails of dirt, roots and rocky terrain.

What really impressed me about the XR Mission 1 is the Sensiflex construction on the forefoot area of the shoe.  This feature made my footing more secure and the stretchy fabric on the sides adapted on every stride I did. 

The seamless inside construction of the shoe was notable too.  I didn’t experience any hot spots or irritating blister causing areas on the shoe.  Full focus was on my pace and stride rather than how my feet are doing down there.  The Ortholite sockliner provided moisture wicking features and the EVA heel cup gave me the support and control I needed.

The Salomon XR Mission 1 is definitely a must bring on door to trail training days and I might just even use it in my upcoming trail race in a month’s time.  If you want a lightweight shoe with the right balance of support and flexibility this shoe is surely a must buy!” – by Coach Miguel Lopez, Salomon Pilipinas Athlete

Leave a Reply

