UNILAB RUN UNITED 2: A GATHERING OF GREAT RUNNERS

Unilab and Runrio Inc., set another record as the biggest number of half marathoners in Philippine running history braved the rains and ran from Bonifacio Global City in Taguig, all the way to SM Mall of Asia Complex in Pasay City to participate in one of the biggest and grandest running event in the country: Unilab Run United 2! 🙂

I was one of the 5,000+ runners who ran the 21K category. The gun start is 4:30am but I was already in the venue by 4am. The runners were divided into three waves. I decided to join the last wave and wait for my other runner friends.

Photo from Unilab Active Health Page

Before the gun start of the last wave, I noticed a lot of familiar faces. Some are old timers and seasoned runners, some are young and new to the sport. I also saw old friends from Takbo.ph and different running teams like Chicem Runners, Team Kamote, Powepuff Boys, Endure, HOB, Hypersports, Barefoot Runners, Team Alpha 1, Ayala Triads and Team Titans. The big names of running like Michelle Estuar, Jinoe Gavan and Jaymie Pizarro were also present.

Team Titans W/ Michelle Estuar after the race (Photo c/o Rolly)

The route for the 21K category was almost the same on the previous leg.. It started at BGC area up to Kalaayaan Flyover, Buendia Makati, Roxas Blvd up to Luneta & will end  to SM MOA Complex.

I started the race with Thirdy, Drew and Noel. We were running together until kilometer 3, I think, until we lost Drew and Noel because they were so fast. Me & Thirdy decided to stick to our easy pace until km 8. It was a cold morning, there were slight drizzles during the run but it did not totally rain that hard.

Team Alpha 1! Go Alpha 1! (Photo c/o Rolly)

After 8K, we decided to have a 4-1 run walk up to the finish. We thought that it would be best for us because we never really trained hard so we have to reserve some energy in order to finish the race.

Along the race course, more runner friends were exchanging hi & hellos! It was really a good feeling to see your old runner friends reunited with running again. I told myself that only UNILAB can bring all these runners together, no other event can bring the biggest names, the biggest teams and personalities of the running community in one race..

Team Reebok with the JazzRunner! (Photo c/o Jazz Runner)

I finished the race with the time of 2:42:52. I did not get a new PR but I had fun. The race was organized as always and the weather was so good. I did not see any major disarray. Coach Rio ran the whole 21K course and checking the route and the stations every now and then. I can say that it’s the best Unilab Run United event so far. I honestly cannot wait for the final leg on September. I’m sure it will be better.

Happy OK OK Runners! (Photo c/o JR)

After the race, I checked in at the Unilab Village to claim my finisher’s kit. I was so happy when I saw that the distribution of Finisher’s kits were now according to sizes. I remember that I discussed it to my fellow bloggers that it will be easier and more organized if it be distributed this way and I was right. I got my finisher’s kit right away, no hassle. I got the second piece of the medal and a finisher’s shirt! 🙂

The only thing I noticed was there were few photographers this time but maybe because it’s raining. I only saw the photographers when I was near to finish already. Also I heard that the time posted at the finishline was accurate for the last wave only,but it didn’t bother me because I’m part of the last wave. Hehe. Anyway, official results are now available.

I also checked the stage for a while and saw Barbie Almalbis performing. There were also a lot of booths that were giving away free items and promos.

Team Pinoy Exchange! 🙂

Unilab Run United 2 was truly a great running experience! It was the only running event that can bring the biggest running icons, the most competitive teams and the greatest runners with their family altogether in one event!

Congratulations to Unilab & Runrio Inc! Cant wait for Run United 3 and the Philippine Marathon! 🙂

8 thoughts on “UNILAB RUN UNITED 2: A GATHERING OF GREAT RUNNERS

Leave a Reply

