Enchong Dee, Barefoot Daves & My First Run of the Year: Amway Fun Run 2013

amwaylogo

Amway Philippines, started the year with a colorful fun run at CCP, Manila last January  12,  dubbed as the 1K@Amway Fun Run 2013. Led by athlete/ tv actor, Enchong Dee, the race gathered almost a thousand of participants, with the goal of starting the year right with good health and fun way to exercise!

It was my first race of the year, and also my first run after a month of hiatus from running. I joined the 5K category, just to check if I still know how to run. Haha.

I came to the venue a little late. I saw the 5K runners, already at the starting line and the host was already counting down to gun start. I rushed my way to the baggage counter hoping to still run with the rest of 5K runners but sadly I didn’t make it. I heard the gun start and race began. Di ko tuloy nakasabay si Enchong. Lol.

Photo by Little Running Teacher
Photo by Little Running Teacher

And because I was late, I crossed the starting line alone. The ever lively and energetic, Running Host, gave me a good morning shout out, almost announcing “Look, Cj is late”. Haha

I started running and chased the 5k runners. I noticed that after 1K, almost half of the runners were already walking. Looks like most of them are first time runners. I continue running and overtook a lot of walkers. (feeling elite! haha)

The 5K route was around CCP complex and was something new to me. I saw fellow blogger Jet Paiso & Jam along the route, also running the 5K category.

There were two hydrations along the course which served cold water. There was also an ambulance stationed near Star City.

Photo by: Little Running Teacher
Photo by: Little Running Teacher

I finished my first 5K of the year with 32 minutes. No PR but was good enough for me considering the loooong vacation of no running. It’s a good come back run for me.

I checked out the events area after the race. I saw a lot of people lining up for free products of Amway. They set up tents for different products of Amway where runners can choose what to take home. They also gave the 5K finishers a free registration to become an Amway distributor, worth P1,000.00.

It was also good to know that portions of the registration fee will be donated to Department of Education’s Adopt-a-School Program, through Amway’s One by One Campaign for Children.

Photo by Jojo of Team USB

Enchong Dee, Nutrilife Ambassador, finished his 5K, under 20 minutes (if I heard it right) ruled the stage as he awarded the winners of the race. My ultimate idol, TBR 2012 Champion,  Mr.Pogi ng Sta. Ana, Barefoot Daves Espia, won the 1K category with a time of 3 minutes & 54 seconds! He cut his hair short because he is getting married this summer. Haha. Double Congrats! By the way, Daves should pay me, equal ang billing nila ni Enchong, asa title pa. LOL

It was a good race to start the year. Its nice to see a lot of new people running their first race. It’s a sign that the running community will continue to grow and become better this year.

Congratulations to Amway Philippines and to all the finishers of the race!

4 thoughts on “Enchong Dee, Barefoot Daves & My First Run of the Year: Amway Fun Run 2013

Leave a Reply

