World Vision Run 2013: Running for the Right Reason!

Yesterday, World Vision Run 2013 successfully pulled off a remarkable fun run with almost 2,000 runners participating in 5k, 10k and half marathon category, all running for a commendable cause: to help raise fund for the education of less fortunate Filipino kids who are under the World Vision Foundation. The race was organized by Coach Rio dela Cruz, a proud supporter and a sponsor of two kids of the foundation. 🙂

1003900_654540534559764_664725584_n
World Vision Run 21K Finishers’ Medal (Photo from World Vision FB Page)

After my feel-good run last week at Alaska World Milk Day Run, I decided to run the same category again for World Vision Run 2013. As much I would like to have that stunning finisher’s medal for the 21K category, I told myself that it’s about time to looked pass the medal and other finisher items and focus on the reason why am I joining the race. This time, the reason was clear: I’m running for the kids of World Vision Foundation, not for the medal or anything.

It was a rainy night before the race and I woke up a little late. I arrived at the event area at the same time the 10K runners were set off the road. I immediately went to the baggage area and deposited my bag. I ran 15 minutes late after the gun start. #wagtularan

1044559_654539917893159_1316822224_n
Our favorite Coach Rio on duty 🙂 (Photo from World Vision FB Page)

I started the race with fellow late comers. Haha. I kept on running until I reached the early walkers of the 10K at 1 kilometer mark. I continued running and at the 4 kilometer mark, I was already in the mix with the 10K runners and that made me felt better. I told myself I can walk now. Haha.

That 10K route was easy for me, considering there was no Kalayaan flyover or McKinley Hill. It was a good 10K tour around BGC.  🙂

At the 7K mark, I saw Turkey este Thirdy on the other side of the road, running the last 500m of the course. Newly engaged Pex Team mate Rex, was few meters behind him. Shet. Patapos na sila. Lol

1013053_473815009378043_391659075_n
On my way to finish! 🙂 (Photo by Mang Husi)

I just enjoyed the last 3 kilometers of the race. The weather was nice, “no pressure”, I told myself. I continued running and walked if I had to. At kilometer 9, almost everyone was walking so #alamna. Lol. Good thing I saw Sir Patrick Concepcion running the last 1k of his pikermi. I planned and tried to pace with with him until the finish but he was so fast I couldn’t keep up with his pace. #asa.

I crossed the finish line at 1:22 (Gun start time) and since I was 15 minutes late, that’s equivalent to 1:07 Chip time (unofficial). No PR, but the result was better compared to my 1:13 last week.

After the race, I met up with my fellow blogger friends Noel & Thirdy for breakfast. 🙂

1004724_10153380805120355_1518081722_n
Post race photo with fellow bloggers Noel, Thirdy & Dennis! 🙂

Here’s a quick review about the race:

  • Overflowing water & Gatorade along the race course
  • Visible marshals and medics
  • Freebies were distributed during the race kit claiming, no more long lines after the race!
  • Good quality singlet by ULAH
  • Photographers were present along the course

I’m not saying that the race was perfect but there is really nothing I can complain about. I want to call this “runner’s maturity” (naks!) that as long as the basic needs of runners are met, I’m good with it. Also, I ran the race for a reason, and I’m glad I was able to contribute in my own way. It was a great race! It was simple but it was fun.

My next race will be Adidas King of the Road! I’ll be running the 16.8K category. Hope to see you there!

Congratulations to the participants and organizers of World Vision Run 2013!  🙂

6 thoughts on “World Vision Run 2013: Running for the Right Reason!

Leave a Reply

