Time flies so fast and just like that, its already a month since I started working out at Fitness First under their latest personal training program: Let’s Get Personal.

Looking back on the last 30 days, it has been a great learning experience for me. Everything was almost new to me because for the last 2 years, my only known work out was running. I was not familiar to any gym equipment except for treadmill. I didn’t know any kind of work out except for push ups & sit ups. Lol. But now, thanks to my personal trainer, I learned to use new equipment and do new work outs.

I tried to be on the gym at least thrice a week. (So technically, title should’ve been first 12 days! Lol) I usually ask for an early morning session with my PT, around 6am to 7am. This is the most ideal time for since I am working from 8am up to freakin’ 7pm, overtime, everyday.

Fitness First Let's Get Personal

Fitness First Let’s Get Personal

During the assessment on my first session, My PT told me that I was overweight and almost obese (IKR!!!) and we need to focus first on losing weight before we proceed to muscle toning. And also according to the result of the body composition analyzer, my muscle mass is normal, which means no need to add or lessen it. We just need to get rid of all the fats that cover it. 🙂

That being said, my work outs usually involved cardio, core training, circuit training and arms & back exercises. NO HEAVY WEIGHT LIFTING involved. Yehey. 🙂 At the beginning I don’t know what my PT is trying to do with me, but later on, I realized that he’s an expert on his field and that he really thinks about what kind of work out that will best suit me in able to achieve my goals. It is now clear to me, that having personal trainers are advantageous to people in order to keep track and achieve their fitness goals.

During our previous sessions, my PT would demonstrate how to do the work our properly and how to use the equipment safely. And me being a complete newbie to all these gym stuff, i need all the coaching possible and my PT did an awesome job.

Here our some of my favorite newly learned work outs from my Fitness First PT Paolo:

My PT Paolo demonstrating the “Batlling Ropes”

1. The Battling Ropes – a strength and conditioning work out where you will move big ropes using your arms and body in different directions or in big or small waves. It is a fast work out that usually last for 1 minute but burns fat and build muscle simultaneously.

Fitness First PT Paolo modelling for the #LetsGetPersonal Tarp. LOL

2. The Gym/Exercise Ball – a ball made of plastic that is usually used physical therapy, athletic training and gym exercises. During my training my PT used this for my squat exercises.

TRX Suspension Training as demonstrated by my PT

3. Suspension Training – a strength training that uses a rope to allow the user to work against their own body weight and perform different kinds of exercises.

After 30 days, I learned a lot about myself and my body. I learned that I was not as strong, as fast and as fit like I thought I was. I learned that I need a lot of hard work and discipline in order to achieve my goals.

Next post will be about the results and my photos. I hope I will have the courage to post it. Haha. Thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

