My “Unnaturally Quick” 21K finish with Reebok Z Fury

Posted: April 4, 2014 in My Runs
Tags: , , , , ,

Two weeks ago, Reebok launched their new brandmark: the Reebok Delta symbol. It is a symbol that represents a better life through fitness; physically, mentally and socially. According to Matt O’Toole, Reebok Chief Marketing Officer, their new brandmark is not just a logo, but “a symbol of change and a way of life”.

In line with their new brandmark is the release of their newest shoe collection: the ZSeries. The Zseries collection is inspired by the design of high-performance ZRated tires found on exotic high-end sports cars. ZRated tires are designed for use on cars that travel at speeds in excess of 149 mph (240 km/h) and the treads are engineered for ultimate ground contact and the ability to rapidly move in and out of turns at high speed.

I was fortunate to become one of the first few runners in the Phillipines to try and test one of their running shoes: The Z fury. Thanks Reebok for the new kicks! 🙂

Reebok Z Fury

I was so excited to try the shoes that’s why I did a 5k run on a treadmill the day after for the ‘break in’. At first I had a different feeling but of course that was natural as my feet are still not familiar with the shoe. Surpisingly after a few strides, I felt that I immediately found my footing and finished my 5k easy run that morning. I was so thrilled that I decided to use the shoe for my upcoming 21K race at Run United.

During the race, the shoe gave me a good run! I felt so comfortable all throughout the course. Maybe it is because of its unique foam compound and radically sliced geometry that gives ultimate ground contact and a light weight cushioned and more responsive ride.

I was able to do a steady pace of 7/kph for the first 16k, I was surprised to beat my 16k PR. I did walkbreaks after hydration stations and I ran the last 2km up to the finish line.

Photo by: Running Photographers

I finished the race 30 minutes faster than my usual time! It was an awesome feeling. Though I know that the weight loss was the main factor for my improved finish time, I still want to give props for Reebok Z Fury, for performing well with me during the race. That was my best 21k to date, and I’m glad I ran with my Reebok Z Fury.

Reebok wants to help people change for the better – to be the best version of themselves through embracing a fitness lifestyle and I was so glad that I was able to live up for it during the race day. I became a better runner, I achiever a better time and I now believed I can do better on the next races.

Comments
  1. Running Atom says:

    Wowww! That’s a great amount of shaved time. Congrats CJ on your new PR and the new pair of Reebok Z 🙂

Leave a Reply

